How You Can Help

Mrs. Clark with group rationing during war


The Speaker’s Award is presented to a Bowling Green High School (BGHS) graduate, based on achievement, leadership and a desire to pursue law, political science, or related field. Students are selected by school staff.

The award, named after Speaker of the House Champ Clark, was made possible through the Schewe Fund, established by Ms. Schewe, through which over $3,000 has been presented to BGHS graduates. Elenore, a 1941 Washington University graduate, resides in Vandalia.

The recipient of The Speaker's Award in 2015 was Zachary Kiel, a Bowling Green High School graduate. Kiel was presented a certificate of recognition and a check for $350.

Zachary Kiel, 2015 Speaker's Award Winner2015 Speaker’s Award recipient Zachary Keil is presented his check and certificate on behalf of the Champ Clark Honeyshuck committee and Elenore Schewe by Pam Williams, Award Chairperson.

Here is the roster of recipients:
2003 - Nikki Harper
2004 - Meagan Perry
2005 - Jacob Colbert
2006 - Eric Dunn
2007 - Sara Ehret
2008 - Kayla Tepen
2009 - Jack Brown
2010 - Elizabeth Dopp
2011 - Andrew Fisher
2012 - Austin Suddarth
2013 - Cheyenne Foster
2014 - Shiann Truelove
2015 - Zachary Kiel